Nominations to open for 6th District Difference Makers Award

December 10, 2015
Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs

Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs

Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs is once again seeking nominations for the Dr. James G. White 6th District Difference Makers Award, which honors those persons or organizations making the 6th District a great place in which to live. Nominations will be accepted beginning Tuesday, December 1, 2015 – and can be submitted via email to
The deadline for nominations is the close of business on Friday, January 15, 2016.
Alderwoman Coggs said the award recognizes selfless and dedicated work to improve the district, neighborhoods and the community. “Dedication to one’s neighborhood, to one’s neighbors and to the community in a selfless and positive manner and with generosity of spirit is what the Difference Makers Award is about, as it truly embodies the beliefs and actions of the late Dr. James G. White,” Alderwoman Coggs said.
“I urge residents to nominate individuals or organizations for this prestigious award,” she said. A nomination form is now available.

Alderwoman Coggs established the Dr. James G. White 6th District Difference Makers Awards to recognize those residents and organizations that work diligently to improve and strengthen the quality of life for themselves, their neighborhood and the City of Milwaukee. Dr. White was a resident of the 6th District who served as a county supervisor and the regional vice president of WestCare Wisconsin Harambee Community Center, facilitating countless neighborhood projects and programs and always using his gifts, talents and knowledge to improve and empower his community.