Milwaukee swears in city officials in public ceremony

April 21, 2016


Public inauguration ceremonies for Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett, Milwaukee Common Council members and other elected city officials were held Tuesday, April 19, 2016 at City Hall. The ceremonies were free and open to the public. The inauguration followed the charter meeting of the 2016-2020 Common Council. The Common Council also selected Ashanti Hamilton as Common Council President(see more on his appointment on page 2) and appointed the City Clerk during the charter meeting. Following the ceremonies, guests and city residents were invited to public receptions inside City Hall. The third floor Council Chamber was open and members of the Common Council greeted visitors. Pictured at the inauguration ceremony are (from left) Alderman Cavalier Johnson (2nd District), Alderman Russell W. Stamper, II (15th District), City Treasurer Spencer Coggs; Common Council President Ashanti Hamilton (1st District), Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs (6th District), Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett (back row), Alderwoman Chantia Lewis (9th District), and Alderman Khalif J. Rainey (7th District).