SDC welcomes new commissioners

April 22, 2013

The Social Development Commission (SDC) has six newly elected members for its Board.  Milwaukee County residents participated in the SDC Board Elections held Friday, April 12.

Residents selected six persons to represent the low-income community on the 18-person Board that helps draw up and implement policy for SDC.  The other twelve members of the Board are appointed by different agencies and governmental bodies.

In District One, Kristina McHenry, the current SDC Board Chair, defeated several write-in candidates and earned another three year term.  In a tightly contested District Two race, Delta L. Triplett edged incumbent Board member Virgie Wynn, another challenger Derek Williams and write-in candidate George Mathews.

In District Three, Elizabeth Coppola was elected to become the new district representative on the Board.  She was unopposed on the ballot.  In District Four, ViAnna J. Jordan was elected after running unopposed.

District Five voters picked Alma L. Ramirez to be their new representative on the SDC Board for the area covering much of Milwaukee’s near Southside. And in District Six, no candidate turned in the needed 200 signatures; so write-in votes determined that Vincent Bobot, who got 23 write-in votes, will be the new District representative on the Board.

The six SDC Board Election winners will be sworn in at the end of the April Board meeting on April 18th.  They will be part of an historic period for the agency.  SDC, along with other social service agencies, faces budget cuts from the federal government as well as the task of finding and hiring a new permanent CEO for the agency.

To learn more about SDC and view a complete breakdown of the voting totals, visit the agency website at