Atty. Roy B. Evans and Venice Williams named winners of the 2019 Frank P. Zeidler Public Service Award

October 3, 2019

Photo by Yvonne Kemp

Attorney Roy B. Evans, a community activist with more than 40 years of education and civic-minded service and experience, and Venice Williams, a community change agent and visionary leader in Milwaukee, have been named the 2019 recipients of the Frank P. Zeidler Public Service Award.

Mr. Evans and Ms. Williams were presented with the Zeidler Award during a special ceremony on Tuesday, September 24, 2019 in the third floor Vel R. Phillips Ante Chamber (prior to the start of the regular meeting of the Common Council) at City Hall, 200 E. Wells St.

Attorney Roy B. Evans, a Milwaukee native and graduate of North Division High School, earned his undergraduate degree at Dominican College where he majored in secondary education. He went on to further his education at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee in the Administrative Leaders Program. During his time at UW-Milwaukee, he worked as a full-time counselor and academic advisor to African American students in the College of Letters and Science. Always on the path of educational excellence, he later attended the University of Wisconsin-Madison Law School where he earned his JD degree.

Venice Williams is the founder of Alice’s Garden, an urban farm that teaches cultivation to Milwaukee families. Ms. Williams not only provides the space, but she also provides a multitude of other services in the garden, such as yoga classes, community potlucks, and even shows movies in the garden for the community. Many of the events Ms. Williams hosts are free; what she asks is that everyone come with open arms and respect for one another. Ms. Williams is also the visionary behind the Mind Body & Soul Center, where she hosts a myriad of events around topics that create awareness in the community.

Pictured at the event are (from left) Alderman Khalif J. Rainey; Alderman Russell W. Stamper, II; Alderwoman Nikiya Dodd; Alderwoman Chantia Lewis; Atty. Roy B. Evans; community leader Venice Williams; Alderwoman Milele A. Coggs; Alderman Cavalier Johnson; Milwaukee City Treasurer G. Spencer Coggs; and Common Council President Ashanti Hamilton.