President’s Diversity and Inclusion Award recipients announced

March 29, 2018

Pictured at the President’s Diversity and Inclusion Award Luncheon are (back row, from left) Dr. John Raymond, Sr.; Andrew Petroll, MD; C. Greer Jordan Ph.D.; (front row, from left) Geneva Johnson; B. Ulysses Li, MD; Sebastian Ssempijja, Ph.D.

The Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) selected four individuals who received the President’s Diversity and Inclusion Award at a special luncheon on Tuesday, March 20, 2018. Andrew Petroll, MD, associate professor of medicine and psychiatry; B. Ulysses Li, MD, professor of pediatrics (gastroenterology); Geneva Johnson; and Sebastian Ssempijja, Ph.D, CEO and clinic director of the Sebastian Family Psychology Practice, LLC., were honored at a special event during the 2018 Spring Festival of Cultures.

Dr. Petroll was chosen for his dedication through mentorship and leadership in creating a meaningful and impactful educational experience for countless medical students, as well as his commitment to the LGBTQ community.

Dr. Li was selected for his tireless efforts in promoting health and equity in the Asian population, as well as mentoring Asian students to pursue health careers.

Geneva Johnson was chosen for her decades of work in leading cancer initiatives and serving the Hmong community to ensure efficient access to healthcare.

Dr. Ssempijja was selected for his passionate efforts in providing access to care for the underserved population and his unwavering commitment to refugees in the greater Milwaukee community.

John R. Raymond, Sr., MD, president and CEO, in partnership with MCW’s Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Committee, established the President’s Diversity and Inclusion Award to honor individuals who have helped enhance an environment of inclusivity and diversity at MCW. This year, award recipients were selected from the categories of faculty and community members. Each recipient will receive $2,500.