35th Annual Black Excellence Awards Honorees

35th Annual Black Excellence Awards Honorees

Special Honorees – Women At the Leading Edge of Education, Medicine, Law and Business

Special Honoree – Medicine

Dr. Candice Lovell
Froedtert & the Medical College of Wisconsin

Dr. Bridgett Moss
Froedtert & The Medical College of WI Health Clinic

Dr. Aronica V. Williams
Milwaukee Health Services, Inc.

Special Honoree – Education

Tamara Johnson
Malaika Early Learning Center

Regina Manns
Milwaukee Public Schools

State Superintendent Carolyn Stanford Taylor
Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction

Special Honoree – Law

Attorney Kori Ashley
Legal Action of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

The Honorable Brittany Grayson
Milwaukee County Circuit Court

Attorney Kristen D. Hardy
Briggs & Stratton Corporation

Attorney Ashley A. Smith
Godfrey & Kahn, S.C.

Special Honoree – Business

Stephanie Findley
Midwest Construction

Denise M. Thomas
The Effective Communication Coach

2020 Black Excellence Honorees


Vedale Hill
Mixed Media Artist

Rosemary Ollison
Fibers, Illustration & Mixed Media

Community Leadership

Andre Douglas
Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Milwaukee

Yvonne McCaskill
Century City Triangle Neighborhood Association

Community Service

Jim Gaillard
Ezekiel CDC

Gerry Howze
Pearls for Teen Girls, Inc.

Corporate Trailblazers

Edward J. Bryant
Town Bank/ Wintrust

Nita Farrow
Milwaukee Public Schools

Brandon Watkins

Extraordinary Achievement

Reginald Baylor
Reginald Baylor Studio

The Honorable Marvin Pratt
Former Alderman & Mayor – City of Milwaukee

Darrin Reasby (posthumous)
Born 2 Dream

Angela Stinson
Retired Military


Dewayne Walls

Military/Public Service

Chanaye Brown
Milwaukee County Transit System

Cecilia Nation-Gardner
Milwaukee County Transit System

Cressida Neal
Milwaukee County Transit System

Minority Business

Therese Bailey
ZenZen Yoga Arts

Ronnie Gilchrist
Ser Future Fashions

Karen James
Karen James’ Creations and Design

Ronnie Lockett
Ronnie’s Barber Shop


Carol L. Haywood

Samuel McClain, Jr.


Pastor Clara Atwater
Love Tabernacle, Gingerbread House

Dr. Shawnee M. Daniels-Sykes
Mount Mary University

Deacon Bennie Morris, Sr.
New Hope Baptist Chruch

Sr. Callista Robinson, OSF
St. Martin De Porres Parish – Milwaukee

Social Service

Dionne Grayson
Lead2Change, Inc.

Santana Lee


Michael Cummings
Retired Milwaukee Public School Educator

Bobbie Kelsey
Milwaukee Public Schools (MPS)


Deirdre “D” Mingo
On Eagles Wings 4UL

Felice Green
Community Volunteer

The Honorable Elder Ricky Price, Sr.
Motivational Speaker & Writer

Margaret Todd
Retired MPS Educator

2020 Louvenia Johnson Scholarship Recipients

Daelon Adaway
Golda Meir Upper Campus

London Bates
Golda Meir Upper Campus

Noah Cotton
Rufus King International High School

Treyvon Hamberlin
Milwaukee Lutheran High School

Shak’la Harrington
Golda Meir Upper Campus

Courtney Johnson
Golda Meir Upper Campus

Naoshi Johnson
Pulaski High School

Tanya McNeal
Washington High School

Kevin Norris
Nicolet High School

Devaki Sanon
Nicolet High School

Joshua Williams
Rufus King International High School