United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County announces Danae D. Davis as the 2022 recipient of the Linda McFerrin African American Nonprofit Leadership Award

January 19, 2023

United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County is proud to announce Danae D. Davis as the recipient of the 2022 Linda McFerrin African American Nonprofit Leadership Award. Davis is the retired executive director of Milwaukee Succeeds.

The Linda McFerrin African American Nonprofit Leadership Award was established by United Way’s 2019-20 Board Chair Cory Nettles, founder and managing director of Generation Growth Capital, Inc., and his wife Michelle Nettles, chief people and culture officer at ManpowerGroup, in recognition of Linda McFerrin, retired vice president of resource development, and her 42 years of leadership and service to United Way.

The recipient of this annual award is chosen by United Way’s Diversity Leadership Society and a $5,000 grant is made to the organization they represent. The winner is announced each year on Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday.

“Danae’s has been a strong leader in this community for many years,” said Cory Nettles. “She has touched the lives of thousands of people in our area, removed barriers, and worked to change systems. Michelle and I are so proud to present her with this award.”

Danae D. Davis joined the Greater Milwaukee Foundation in May 2015 and served as executive director of Milwaukee Succeeds, a citywide educational partnership the Foundation helped create. Milwaukee Succeeds is dedicated to ensuring the success of every child in every school in Milwaukee, cradle to career. She retired on November 18, 2022.

Davis previously spent nine years as CEO of PEARLS for Teen Girls, a Milwaukee- based nonprofit that used a nationally recognized model girl empowerment and leadership development for adolescent girls ages 10- 19. Her career also has included leadership positions in both corporate and government sectors including Miller Brewing Company, Kraft Foods, and the city of Milwaukee.

Davis currently serves on the National StriveTogether board and local Kings Academy Christian School and Radio Milwaukee HYFIN advisory boards.

Davis’s award will be celebrated at the United Way Annual Meeting on February 23, 2023 at U.S. Bank Center, Downtown Kitchen beginning at 5:00 p.m.